# Hootsuite alternatives for brand and AI-answer monitoring

Updated October 2026

Hootsuite is a social media management platform first, with listening built on Talkwalker, the company it owns. People look for an alternative for two reasons: the $99, $199 and $399 prices cover a whole social-management suite, not listening on its own, and Hootsuite names no feature that checks how AI assistants answer buying questions. Every fact below comes from Hootsuite's own site, checked 8 October 2026.

## Quick answer

MarketHQ is the pick when listening is the whole job: weekly AI visibility on six engines from $29, gap analysis and an action plan, not folded into a publishing suite. Hootsuite's $99, $199 and $399 plans sit in a social-management suite, with listening built on its owned Talkwalker brand. Agorapulse and Sprout Social are the closer publishing-plus-listening swaps; Brandwatch sits above all of them with no public price.

- MarketHQ includes weekly AI visibility on six engines, gap analysis and an action plan on every paid plan from $29; Hootsuite names no feature that tracks what AI assistants say about a brand.
- Hootsuite's prices ($99, $199, $399) appear only inside a FAQ answer on its plans page, not on the pricing cards themselves.
- MarketHQ and Agorapulse both publish self-serve pricing; Hootsuite's listening runs through its owned sub-brand Talkwalker, and Brandwatch's plans are demo-only.

## Why choose MarketHQ over Hootsuite?

Hootsuite prices listening inside a full social-management suite and names no AI-answer visibility feature; MarketHQ prices tracking on its own and checks six AI engines weekly.

Hootsuite's listening comes from Talkwalker, with AI insights and an assistant that answers questions from a brand's own social data. That works on what is already collected. Hootsuite names no feature that checks what ChatGPT, Claude or Perplexity say when a buyer asks which tool to use.

MarketHQ includes that weekly check on six engines on every paid plan from $29, plus gap analysis and an action plan that says what to do next, chat over your evidence, and an API and MCP. Countries run from 1 on Lite to 10 on Enterprise, with AI questions shared across them. Tiers differ by tracking capacity, not by which feature you can reach. The free plan is news, blogs, forums and a taste of Bluesky.

## What sources does MarketHQ cover?

Free: Hacker News, GitHub, RSS, Stack Overflow, Dev.to, Lobsters. Paid plans add Reddit, LinkedIn, YouTube, X, Perplexity, Product Hunt, Broader web crawl, Bluesky.

- Grouped Slack daily digest
- Drafted replies from your own strengths
- Gap analysis and action plans
- Weekly AI-answer visibility (paid plans)
- Chat over your own evidence
- API and MCP on every paid plan
- Flat capacity pricing, tiers differ by tracking volume only
- 7-day trial for $0.99 on Lite and Startup
- Free tier with no card and no end date

## List

Method: every tool was checked on its own site, most recently 8 October 2026, and a price is quoted only where the vendor publishes one; Brandwatch publishes none, and Hootsuite does not state the billing basis of its figures. Ordering follows the page's own structure, not a ranking, and MarketHQ is our own product.

1. MarketHQ
Weekly AI visibility on six engines, gap analysis and an action plan on every paid plan from $29, chat over your evidence, and a grouped Slack digest instead of a publishing calendar to manage.
   - Best for: Teams that want monitoring, AI visibility and a next-step plan without buying a publishing suite to get them.
   - Pricing: Free tier; Lite $29, Startup $99, Growth $199 a month; 7-day trial for $0.99 on Lite and Startup. Tiers differ by tracking capacity only.
   - Sources covered: Hacker News, GitHub, Stack Overflow, Dev.to, Lobsters, RSS, plus paid social and web sources.
   - AI visibility: yes

2. Agorapulse
A publishing-first suite close to Hootsuite in shape, with an option to stay on a free plan after its 30-day trial, though its own listening sits behind a separate Advanced Listening add-on booked by demo.
   - Best for: Teams that want a publishing-first suite with an option to stay on a free plan after the trial.
   - Pricing: Standard $99, Professional $149, Advanced $199 a month ($79/$119/$149 billed annually); Custom plan quote-based.
   - Sources covered: Social accounts, news platforms, blogs and forums.
   - AI visibility: unknown

3. Sprout Social
A social management platform with a listening product that processes hundreds of millions of messages a day, plus an AI teammate (Trellis) for plain-language research questions.
   - Best for: Teams that want a social suite with sentiment, share of voice and competitor comparison in its listening product.
   - Pricing: Essentials $99 per seat a month ($79 billed annually), Standard $199, Professional $299, Advanced $399 per seat a month.
   - Sources covered: TikTok, Instagram, Threads, Reddit, LinkedIn, Bluesky, WhatsApp, TripAdvisor, X and Facebook.
   - AI visibility: unknown

4. Brand24
Media monitoring with sentiment analysis, anomaly detection and a Brand Assistant chatbot, with an AI Visibility module included standard on Enterprise and an add-on below it.
   - Best for: Teams that want sentiment and reach analysis across a wide social and news list.
   - Pricing: Individual $249 a month or $199 billed annually; Enterprise from $1,499 billed annually, where AI Visibility is included standard.
   - Sources covered: X, Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, Spotify, news, LinkedIn, blogs, forums, reviews, Reddit, Telegram, TripAdvisor, App Store and TikTok.
   - AI visibility: yes

5. Brandwatch
An enterprise social intelligence suite that states coverage of over 100 million sources, with Iris AI-driven analytics and a documented API suite, started by booking a demo.
   - Best for: Larger marketing or comms teams that have outgrown Hootsuite's scale and expect a sales process.
   - Pricing: No price published; book a demo to get started.
   - Sources covered: Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, Twitter/X, Reddit, LinkedIn, TikTok, Threads, Pinterest, WhatsApp and Facebook Messenger.
   - AI visibility: unknown

## What does Hootsuite actually cost?

Paid plans start at $99 a month for Standard, $199 for Professional and go up to $399 for Advanced, and that figure appears only inside a FAQ answer on Hootsuite's plans page, not on the pricing cards themselves.

The vendor data we hold notes the price appears only in FAQ text, not on the pricing card directly, and the billing basis (monthly or annual) is not stated there, so check the page before budgeting.

The plans page describes one suite per tier and shows no separate listening price. A team that only wants to watch what people say, without a content calendar to manage, would still be buying the suite.

## Does Hootsuite track AI-answer visibility?

Not on the pages we checked. Hootsuite's own pages describe an AI assistant that answers questions from a brand's own social data and drafts posts from trends, not a feature that checks how ChatGPT, Claude or Perplexity answer a buying question.

Hootsuite's AI features, the in-app assistant and Talkwalker's "Blue Silk" insights layer, work on data Hootsuite has already collected: a brand's own mentions, posts and engagement. That is a different job from asking an outside AI assistant what it says when a buyer asks which tool to use, and Hootsuite names no feature that does the second job.

MarketHQ runs that second check weekly on every paid tier, across ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Grok, DeepSeek and Perplexity, and turns the result into gap analysis and an action plan rather than a one-off screenshot.

## Which Hootsuite alternative covers the same sources?

None of them match Hootsuite's exact list, but Sprout Social and Brandwatch come closest on social breadth, while Brand24 adds the review sites and App Store coverage Hootsuite does not list.

Hootsuite's own listening module names Instagram, LinkedIn, Vimeo, Pinterest, Twitch, Reddit, Disqus, Facebook, X, BlueSky, YouTube, Quora, Threads, news, blogs, forums and podcasts. Sprout Social and Brandwatch both cover a similar social-first spread; neither lists App Store or Spotify the way Brand24 does.

None of the other tools on this page name Hacker News, GitHub or Stack Overflow as sources; MarketHQ reads them as one part of a wider list. The bigger difference is the weekly AI check, gap analysis and action plan.

## Where does Hootsuite still win?

Hootsuite wins when publishing and listening need to live in one subscription for a social team. Choose MarketHQ when AI visibility, gap analysis and an action plan matter more than a shared publishing calendar.

A team that schedules posts across many social accounts and wants listening on the same login has a real reason to choose Hootsuite: scheduling and listening sit under one login, and its Talkwalker-based listening covers a wide social, news and forum list.

MarketHQ does not schedule or publish anything. It watches what gets said, checks weekly how AI assistants answer category questions, and turns both into gap analysis and an action plan, at a price that does not require buying a content calendar to get there.

- Choose Hootsuite if publishing, scheduling and listening need to run through one shared login for a social team.
- Choose Hootsuite if Talkwalker's image, video and audio mention detection matters for your brand.
- Choose Hootsuite if an AI assistant answering questions from your own social data is the feature you actually want.

## What would switching from Hootsuite look like?

Mostly a change in what the subscription buys, not just what it costs. The numbers below are illustrative, not measured.

Illustrative: a team pays Hootsuite Professional at $199 a month mainly to get listening, and uses the scheduling calendar lightly because posting already happens through another tool. The listening side covers social, news, blogs and forums, and Hootsuite names no weekly read on what an AI assistant says about the brand.

The same $199 on MarketHQ Growth (10 competitors, 100 keywords, 120 AI questions) adds the weekly AI-answer visibility check, gap analysis naming what buyers keep asking for, and a grouped Slack digest, on top of community and web coverage, without paying for a publishing calendar the team does not need.

## FAQ

### How much does Hootsuite cost?

Hootsuite's plans page states paid plans start at $99 for Standard, $199 for Professional and range up to $399 for Advanced, as of 8 October 2026. The figures appear only in a FAQ answer on the page, and the billing basis is not stated.

### Is there a free alternative to Hootsuite's listening feature?

MarketHQ's free plan is news, blogs, forums and a taste of Bluesky, with no card and no end date. We found no free plan on Hootsuite's plans page. Agorapulse offers an option to stay on a free plan after its 30-day trial, though Advanced Listening there is a separate add-on booked by demo.

### Which Hootsuite alternative tracks AI-answer visibility?

MarketHQ checks six AI engines weekly on every paid plan from $29 and turns the gaps into an action plan. Brand24 has an AI Visibility module, standard only on its Enterprise plan from $1,499. Hootsuite, Agorapulse, Sprout Social and Brandwatch name no such feature on the pages we checked.

### Does any Hootsuite alternative cover GitHub or Hacker News?

MarketHQ lists GitHub, Hacker News, Stack Overflow, Dev.to and Lobsters as monitored sources. Hootsuite, Agorapulse, Sprout Social, Brand24 and Brandwatch list social, news, blogs, forums and review sites, not Hacker News or GitHub.

### Is it worth switching if Hootsuite already works for publishing?

Choose MarketHQ when the job is AI visibility, gap analysis and an action plan, not scheduling posts. Hootsuite fits if publishing and listening need to share one login for a social team.

## Related

- [MarketHQ vs Hootsuite](https://markethq.ai/compare/markethq-vs-hootsuite) — the head-to-head, row by row
- [MarketHQ vs Sprout Social](https://markethq.ai/compare/markethq-vs-sprout-social) — if the publishing suite under consideration is Sprout instead
- [MarketHQ vs Brandwatch](https://markethq.ai/compare/markethq-vs-brandwatch) — for the enterprise, demo-only end of this list
- [Best competitor monitoring tools](https://markethq.ai/best/competitor-monitoring-tools-for-developer-tools) — the wider category, judged the same way
- [All alternatives](https://markethq.ai/alternatives) — every alternatives page we have verified
- [Pricing](https://markethq.ai/pricing) — what the four MarketHQ tiers cost

## Sources

- Hootsuite plans: https://www.hootsuite.com/plans (verified 2026-10-08)
- Hootsuite home page: https://www.hootsuite.com (verified 2026-10-08)
- Hootsuite listening platform: https://www.hootsuite.com/platform/listening (verified 2026-10-08)
- Agorapulse pricing: https://www.agorapulse.com/pricing/ (verified 2026-10-08)
- Sprout Social pricing: https://sproutsocial.com/pricing/ (verified 2026-10-08)
- Sprout Social listening: https://sproutsocial.com/features/social-media-listening/ (verified 2026-10-08)
- Brand24 pricing: https://brand24.com/prices/ (verified 2026-10-08)
- Brand24 home page: https://brand24.com (verified 2026-10-08)
- Brandwatch home page: https://www.brandwatch.com (verified 2026-10-08)
- Brandwatch pricing: https://www.brandwatch.com/pricing/ (verified 2026-10-08)
- Brandwatch social media management: https://www.brandwatch.com/products/social-media-management/ (verified 2026-10-08)
